This article describes the meaning and usage of the status of error groups in the Raygun dashboard.
Raygun currently lets you assign error groups to one of five statuses. These are:
- Resolved In Version
- Permanently Ignored
When an error is first received it is assigned to Active, and is visible in the first tab. You can then take action to change it to another status. This can be done in two ways:
- From the individual error group view: when viewing the Exception Details for an error group, click the top-right dropdown to assign this error group to another status
- From the application view: when viewing all errors in an application, select one of the four status tabs, select one or many error groups using the checkboxes to the far left, then click the blue 'Change Status' button to assign them all.
After changing the status, the error group will then be moved and visible in its new tab.
Effect of error statuses
Each status has a different effect, relating to what email/plugin notifications you receive when a new error instance is received for that error group. These are:
When a new error occurs, you will receive a notification email. If instances of this error group continue to arrive, you will receive follow-up emails at certain time intervals (so we don't flood you with notifications for every instance).
If you are a low-rate sender, we can flag your application to send 'reoccurred' email notifications at a repeating interval. Please contact us if would you like this enabled.
The error group is removed from active counts and the Daily Digest email. If another error instance is received, the error group will be reassigned to Active and a reoccurring notification will be sent.
Resolved In Version
The error group is removed from active counts and the Daily Digest email. If another error instance is received and the version of your code that generated that error is greater than the version you set this error as resolved in, the error group will be reassigned to Active and a reoccurring notification will be sent.
For example: Version 18.104.22.168 of your software is generating a NullPointerException. You fix this error and plan to release the fix in version 22.214.171.124. You mark the error as Resolved in Version 126.96.36.199, and no longer receive new notifications for that error. You then release 188.8.131.52, but the error wasn't resolved and keeps happening. This will cause you to receive a notification that the error had re-occurred, and the error will be set back to Active.
Note that this feature needs you to set the version property on your Raygun error reports. This process should be detailed in the documentation for your Raygun client library.
Similar to 'Resolved' above, but the reoccurring email notification is different. This is useful to mark junk error groups separately from your actually fixed errors, for instance when setting up Raygun and sending test exceptions.
If you set an error group to Ignored, the next time it receives an error you will get an email notification informing you it has reoccurred.
This removes the error from all active count as above, but if a new error instance arrives it will not be reassigned to Active. No notifications will ever be delivered again for this error group, until you manually reassign it to Active in the dashboard.
This is useful for ignoring situations like web crawlers that request invalid routes.
Permanently Ignored errors still count towards your quota unless you choose to discard all future occurrences. You can choose to discard all future occurrences of Permanently Ignored errors below.
Error statuses and plan usage
Every error instance that Raygun receives is normally counted against your Raygun Plan limit, which has a certain amount of errors stored per month (visible on the pricing page and your Plan Settings page when logged in).
You can choose to discard error instances if they end up assigned to a Permanently Ignored error group. To do this, change the error group status to Permanently Ignored as usual, but ensure the checkbox in the dialog is selected.
This will drop the error instance immediately (it won't appear in the dashboard), the error group count won't be incremented, and your plan's monthly error count won't be increased. This behavior will remain until you change the error group's status (you can reset it to Permanently Ignored and clear the checkbox if you wish to receive instances again). This behavior will only take effect for future error instances; those already stored will remain counted against your monthly processing limit even if the error group is deleted.